Central Vacuum Stores Salutes The US Army

Continuing our Memorial week special, we’re taking a glimpse at the life of an active Army Soldier. Micah Ambrose may be the baby of the Ambrose family, but his life as an Army officer is certainly proving him to be quite the leader. From his high school years spent in the ROTC program to his attendance at a prestigious military college, Micah’s dedication and determination have left our Central Vacuum family glowing with pride. We’re humbled by his service. (Though…we sure wish it wasn’t halfway across the world.)

I was able to catch up with Micah despite the thirteen hour time difference (oh, the glories of the internet!) and challenged him to answer these 15 questions. I call this, “Conversation with a Soldier.”

Micah Ambrose on patrol in Korea
Micah Ambrose on overseeing training in Korea
  1. Name & Rank:  2LT Ambrose, Micah P.
  2. Current location:  Camp Walker, Daegu, Korea
  3. Describe a typical day in your life:  Wake up go to PT (physical training). After PT I come home and work call is at 0900. Depending on the day I am usually in the office. I work on anything and everything the Commander has for me. I take charge of the Company when he is not around. Thursday I usually get the chance to train with my Soldiers. 
  4. What did you eat for dinner last night?  I made a type of Saulsberry steak with veggies.
  5. What’s your favorite thing to do on your free time?  Nothing really, I work on school, play video games, and watch lots of 3D movies on my LG TV.
  6. What are some of the hard parts of being stationed over seas?  Adjusting to the culture is very different. In the states it is easy to blend in and I take advantage of that. 
  7. What goals do you have for your life in the Army?  I am going to see what these next few duty stations have in store for me. I plan on being a lifer. 
  8. Describe your ideal care package:  Anything from my girlfriend or family, I am not picky. Coffee is always a plus.
  9. What would we civilians find surprising about your life?  Being an officer is not what it seems. I spend the majority of my time behind a desk and traveling all over Korea. When I have the chance to train with my Soldiers I always train with them.
  10. What is one of the highlights of your time in Korea?  Being able to see a different culture. 
  11. Have you been able to spend much time off base? If so, have you seen any sights?  I do not spend much time off post. I have been a few places and driven lots, just never really explored.
  12. If you could be stationed anywhere in the world, where would you want to be?  I would love to be stationed in Italy. I am Italian and would love to go where my dad’s dad is from. 
  13. What is the morale like in light of the recent events in North Korea?  Morale is normal. No major change.
  14. What is one of the hardest things about being a leader? What isn’t hard about being a leader? You have to walk a fine line between being nice and being a jerk; most of the time it is a jerk. You have to understand that burning bridges is bad, and try to prevent that from happening, but you have to accept it will happen.
  15. What do you miss most about home? Mostly my family. But I really miss American food and having a truck.

I was so grateful that Micah took time to answer these questions for our article (especially considering the majority of our conversations took place during what would have been the wee hours in South Korea.) But most of all I’m indefinitely grateful for his continued defense of our beautiful nation.

If you have served or are currently serving in our United States Army, Central Vacuum Stores would like to celebrate your service with 5% off your total purchase!  Visit our Facebook Page to learn more or contact our sales team for more info at 1-800-221-8227.

And don’t forget to take a look at our featured Made in America products on our website!

One thought on “Central Vacuum Stores Salutes The US Army

Any thoughts?

